Shortlist for the Wolfson History Prize 2017 announced

3 April 2017

The six shortlisted titles for the Wolfson History Prize 2017 have been announced today. It is the first time that the Prize has issued a shortlist in its 45 year history. Each shortlisted author will receive £4,000. The overall winner will be revealed at a reception at Claridge’s on Monday 15 May 2017 and will receive a prize of £40,000.

The shortlisted books for this year’s award are:

Paul Ramsbottom, Chief Executive of the Wolfson Foundation said: “We are delighted to announce this shortlist of six remarkable books. Together they exhibit a wonderful range of period, place and type of history. But they are united by their brilliance, combining the highest scholarly standards with a lucid readability. They will be enjoyed by a wide audience, and I can imagine any of them as an ideal companion for a summer holiday.

We are also very excited to be announcing a shortlist for the first time. This reflects the sheer range and quality of history being produced in the UK today. We hope that the shortlist will shine a light on even more books, and also encourage debate about what makes brilliant, accessible history.”

The judges for the Wolfson History Prize 2017 are: Sir David Cannadine (Chairman), Sir Richard Evans, Professor Julia Smith and Professor Diarmaid MacCulloch.