You are here:


When can I submit for the Prize?

Submissions for the 2019 Prize are now closed. Submissions for the 2020 Prize will open in summer 2019.

How do I enter a book for the Prize?

All submissions for the Prize should be made by the publisher and information on eligibility and rules of entry for the Prize should be reviewed. 

Do I meet the residency qualification?

In order to be eligible for the Prize an author must be normally resident in the UK during the year of publication. This is defined as spending the majority of nights in the UK during the relevant year. Provided that they meet the residency qualification, the author may be of any nationality.

How much is the Prize worth?

The winning author receives a total prize of £40,000. The other five shortlisted authors receive an award of £4,000 each. We are keen to emphasise that the process recognises and celebrates all six books.

Who has won the Prize in the past and which books have been shortlisted?

All past winners and shortlisted books can be found on this website. Until 2016, up to three awards were made every year. Since 2017, a shortlist of six titles has been announced in advance of one overall winner.